Thrifty Thursday #6

image

I have alot of clothes. I love shopping, and I hate giving stuff away. Before I started budgeting (thank you Dave Ramsey and Total Money Makeover), I would just go shopping and put it on the credit card. I would buy things thinking I would like it better at home…and the answer was usually a no.
That my friends….is how I got this skirt.

It just was way to clingy. There was no guessing where all my butt and thigh creases were….the skirt showed them proudly. 😦 I love this color, so I never got rid of it. As my sewing skills improved I’ve been eying this skirt. I finally have the skill to fix it!

I started off with the skirt, and an old tshirt that had the front with about 50 moth holes. The back was fine, plus I love the print.

image

My too small skirt was a sight a aline, made out of a knit fabric

image

I snagged a coordinating shirt from my repurpose stash

1. I laid the skirt out and cut the side seams off.
2. I cut a strip of newspaper the size I wanted my seam enlarging strips to be, pinned it to the shirt, and cut it out.
3. I pinned a strip to the skirt (front sides together). Be very careful not to stretch the fabric.
4. Using a zig zag stitch, sew your fabric together.  DO NOT STRETCH THE FABRIC. I had to do my first seam 3x. If you stretch it, it puckers!!!! Repeat until your skirt is sewn shut. Start and end each seam with a little back stitch to help it stay in place
*To save time, I cut the shirt, keeping the original hem to not have to mess with hemming it.*

image

My first strip sewn on!

4. Using an iron, turn the skirt wrong side out and open the seams. Steam the seams flat.
5. Try it on….and presto! Hopefully it fits. 😉
Side note…after I wore it, I had to add an extra folded panel to make it stronger at the waist.

One thought on “Thrifty Thursday #6

Leave a Reply

