Biscuits and a Road Trip

We had a fantastic Monday! Hubby preached a revival service, and then, since it was his day off, we headed up to Seattle for a visit with some friends.

image

We started off our trip at the gum wall. Yes. The gum wall. It’s literally a wall you put gum on.

image

My gum and the gum box

image

I used my gum to put the gum box on someone's business card

We went to lunch right on the pier, and then wandered around the stores pike place market has to offering

image

I love dr who and sherlock

image

Also known as Brussel sprouts!

So to just switch gears for a bit… Have you ever eaten a perfect biscuit? Thick, moist, and just barely chewy? I have. But up until a few weeks ago I could not make them to save my life. I only managed to make lumps of edible dough. Good. But generally dry. Then, my ever faithful better homes and gardens produced this recipe. I was pleasantly suprised to discover that they produced thick, flaky biscuits. So move aside puck biscuits. Welcome flaky biscuits!

Flaky Biscuits
3 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup margarine
1 cup milk

Preheat oven to 450F. In a bowl, mix together the dry ingredients. Cut in the butter. (You can either use your hands or a pastry cutter) the mixture will resemble coarse crumbs. When you squeeze it, it should hold its shape, like kinetic sand or cloud dough.

image

Coarse crumbs

image

But it will hold it's shape when squeezed


Stir in the milk with a fork. Once it is moistened, turn it onto a floured surface and knead it slightly. Roll out the dough to 3/4 inch thickness and cut with a cookie cutter. I use a round glass because I don’t have one. Place dough rounds on an ungreased cookie sheet, 1 inch apart. Bake for 10-14 minutes.
Then….serve with your favorite jam or make biscuit sandwiches!
image

3 thoughts on “Biscuits and a Road Trip

Leave a Reply

