Pork Chops in the slow cooker

Food. If you haven’t gathered,  I love food. All of it.  Except escargot. That was a food mr. Picky liked and I gagged on. Weird, right? He’ll eat a snail but not a sweet potato. But I digress. With the arrival of fall it begins a whole new food world! And no I don’t mean pumpkin. Its…….winter squash!!!!!!!Butternut, acorn, spaghetti….you name it, I love it! There has been a bit of a cool snap in pdx, so I bought a lovely little acorn squash to eat. But..what to serve it with? My mom used acorn squash in place of sweet taters in sweet potato casserole l since they don’t have sweet potatoes in Brazil. I wasn’t about to kiss my diet goodbye making my all time favorite fall food, so it’s been just sitting on my cabinet for over a week.

image

Last night I picked up a giant box of pork chops for $5. It was a steal, for sure. I saved two out to put in the slow cooker for dinner tonight. While I was pulling out my slow cooker, I spied my forlorn little squash waiting patiently by the coffee pot. So I pulled out my phone and trotted off to pinterest. Wouldn’t you know it, you can cook pork chops and acorn squash together? I tweaked a recipe I found to make it work for a slightly longer cooking time. It ended up being amazing. I didn’t take any pictures (I know, I know), but it was amazing. The pork was slightly sweet and fall off the bone tender. I ate it straight with the squash and some gravy I made, but my husband declared it good enough to bbq and made it into a sandwich. He’s weird, but I love him. 🙂

Slow Cooker Pork and Squash
1 medium acorn squash, sliced or cubed
2 pork chops (my chops were 10 oz each)
1/4 cup brown sugar
3/8 tsp salt
1 Tbsp margarine
1 Tbsp orange juice
1 cup beef or veggie broth
In a slow cooker, place the pork chops on the bottom and layer the squash on top. In a small sauce pan, melt the butter. Add the brown sugar, orange juice, and salt. Pour mixture over squash. Top with broth. Cook on low for 4-6 hours.

2 thoughts on “Pork Chops in the slow cooker

Leave a Reply

