Thrifty Thursday #2

image

Welcome back to Thrifty Thursday! Today’s tips are….random. lol.
1. Eat leftovers
This one actually has sides to it. First, you can plan on having leftovers and taking them for lunch or repurposing them. We had pork chops one night made in my slow cooker.

I made the leftover into shredded pork and added bbq sauce. The next night we had bbq pulled pork sandwiches for dinner.
Or….plan to NOT have leftovers. This is what I aim for. I don’t have a microwave, so most leftovers are a hassle to warm.
2. Repurpose, reuse, recycle.
We all know we should go “shopping” in our house before we go out. But how many of us do that? I try very hard to. I have a menu board made from an old photo frame I had laying around. it’s been pretty much awesome. My kitchen has all of its staples stored in big jars (like these) I rescued from the trash at my work. They are plastic, but they store my rice, sugar, baking soda and oatmeal just fine. My baskets for my house are forever being rehired with a new job to do. My original towel basket has moved to then kitchen to hold pot holders. glass pasta jars hold small amounts of food such as cornmeal or small bits of rice after I buy a big bag. If you just look around, I’m sure you will find many things you can use instead of buying something new. 🙂

Leave a Reply

