No more store bought English muffins

Yeast. I hate it. If the water is too hot, it dies. If it’s too cold it doesn’t get activated. I have avoided working with yeast for most of my life because I’m intimidated. But, now I’m married. And if I want my mom’s crescent rolls, I have to make them!

It’s been over 90 for most of this week. Originally I was going to make a loaf of bread, but turning the oven on when it was 100F at 7 pm when we don’t have ac did not sound appealing. While spending a few minutes (translate: over an hour) on pinterest, I stumbled across a cool fact: English muffins are made with yeast and can be cooked on a griddle! Naturally, I had to try it out.
Scott and I were impressed with the results. They are definitely English muffins,  but are not that nasty dried out little bread puck you buy at stores. They are wonderfully moist, firm breads rounds with a hint of honey. Scott isn’t a fan of English muffins,  but he loved these! We ate some hot off the griddle with guava jelly.
image

English Muffins
1 cup warm water (105-110)
1/4 Oz (1 packet) yeast
1 cup milk
3 tablespoons honey
3 tablespoons butter
5 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons cornmeal
Sprinkle yeast over warm water.  You will know you got the temperature right when your yeast foams. Stir. Let sit 10 minutes.

image

Yeast in the water after it has bubbled.

In a pan, heat the milk, butter, and honey until the butter melts. let cool slightly. Add the yeast water.
In a bowl, measure 3 cups of flour. Stir (I used my mixer for the majority of the mixing,  but it can be done by hand). Sift the remaining 2 cups of flour and the salt together. Stir in.

image

Flour your counter. Knead your dough for 3 minutes. It should be slightly elastic. If you over knead it will be stiff, more like a biscuit dough. If you don’t have enough flour it will be crazy sticky. Rest your dough for 5 minutes.
Sprinkle cookie sheets with cornmeal. Make sure to have a good layer, or your muffins will stick. (Trust me. Mine did. 😦 )
Roll your dough until it’s 1/2 inch thick. Cut out circles. (You can use a circle cutter, but I didn’t have one. I used a glass, and it worked just fine.) Put them on your cookie sheets. DO NOT LET THE SIDES TOUCH. I did, and found out that when you pull them away from each other, they deflate. So I ended up with some tasty English cubes.

image

English cubes. 😦

Put the sheets into a warm place and let them rise for 45, or until doubled in size.

image

Before rising.

image

After rising.

Let your griddle preheat.( I found out mine did the muffins best around 325, but some one else said they needed theirs at 400. It should take about 8 minutes on each side, so play with your settings until you get it right.) Carefully transfer the muffins to the griddle. Be very gentle or they will deflate and you will get oddly shaped muffins. Do not flip until the bottom is golden brown. Cook for 8 minutes on each side. Serve with butter and honey. Delicious!

6 thoughts on “No more store bought English muffins

Leave a Reply

