Wedding Bells and Freezer Meals

Oh, how a few months changes things! I’ve been crazy busy with….wait for it….planning my WEDDING! Yupp, I’m getting married.

It’s kind of crazy to think about. My roommate moved out because my fiancée will be moving in after the wedding, and for the first time I have a place that is all mine. It’s my little nest! Scott, my amazing man, has been so much of a help. He can cook, he helps me with the dishes, and he’s amazing. In 54 days he’s mine to keep. No return policy on these events.DSC_0071b

My little apartment has slowly changed from an overstuffed house, to a cozy little home. Scott was also gracious and donated one of his bookshelves to my pantry problem! I have hijacked one of the kitchen cupboards to put food in, but I’m not tall enough to reach the top shelf. I’ve been scrounging for space and stuffing groceries in some very odd places. So now my couponing can go back to being consistent! I have a place to store my deals.

I don’t know if anyone out there has ever made freezer meals…but I’m officially a fan of them! Take an hour or so, and poof! Meals ready to go in your freezer! Then, thaw them it night before you need it, stuff them in the oven or the crock pot and you are good to go! With a new marriage and ten hour days, I am trying to eliminate as much stress as humanly possible. Melding two lives is going to be difficult, as it is!

Twenty minutes of work, three complete meals in the freezer!

Twenty minutes of work, three complete meals in the freezer!

I have a list of 4 meals I’m going to make, but tonight’s adventure was cut short by bronchitis/sinusitis. Gotta love being able to breathe. And that meant stopping. I digress. Back to freezer meals. I was speed prepping the meals. I managed to make 3 meals in 20 minutes. I also prepared a fresh bunch of broccoli to go in the freezer, and froze bread for the next few months. Below I’m going to give a list of the recipes/methods for the freezer meals and the bread.

Before I do that, let me explain why I freeze bread. I am one person who likes bread. But have you looked at the size of a loaf of bread? Waaaay too big for one person. My fiancée’s landlord has a bread bank. Literally. He gives loaves bread to needy people. There is always leftover bread that will be thrown away. He has given Scott permission to take whatever he needs.

Bread will keep for three months in a regular freezer.

Bread will keep for three months in a regular freezer.

Every few months I get a few loaves from him, date them, and put them in the freezer. It makes great sandwiches, grilled cheese, breadcrumbs, you name it! All you have to do it pull them out and let them thaw. It doesn’t take very long. If you are in a hurry, turn the oven on, and let the bread thaw while it preheats. This is a serious money saver-think of the slices of bread you throw away. If you throw it in the freezer, you don’t lose the money you invested! It stays freezer burn free for roughly three month.


FREEZER MEAL RECIPES

Recipe 1: Chicken Teriyaki

1 ½ pounds chicken breast, diced.
1 Cup soy sauce
1 Cup white sugar
1 teaspoon garlic salt
1/2 diced onion (optional)

Step one: Label the gallon sized freezer bag with the food name, date, and cooking instructions.
Step two: Add all the ingredients to the bag. I fold the bag in half so they take up less space in my freezer.
Step three: Freeze! It can stay in your regular freezer for three month without getting freezerburn. It will last longer in a deep freeze, but I don’t have that luxury.

Recipe 2: Black Bean, Corn, and Salsa Chicken

1 pound chicken breast
2 cans black beans (or 2.5 cups of dried black beans. Soak them overnight for 12 hours before putting them in the bag)
1 Cup salsa
1 can corn
1 tsp garlic salt
¾ cup water
1 oz taco seasoning packet

Step one: Label your bags. Soak beans overnight, if using dried.
Step two: Add beans to bag. Add salsa, corn, garlic salt, taco seasoning, and water. Take the bag, seal it, and them mix it by smushing everything around. Add the chicken to the bag, then seal.
Step Three: Freeze it! Remember, it lasts for 3 months in a regular freezer.

Just a few notes to finish off this post.

1. Remember that the 3 month guideline is for a regular freezer. Chest freezers are for longer, and the mini freezers that don’t have a good seal will be shorter.
2. 24 hours before you want to use it, don’t forget to pull out your meal to thaw in the refrigerator.
3. Don’t stress if it doesn’t turn out right the first time. Tweak the recipe for your own personal taste, or search the web for some awesome recipes. Good luck!

3 thoughts on “Wedding Bells and Freezer Meals

  1. Hi! You left a comment on my own freezer meal post and I’m loving your blog. But sadly I can’t make the chicken teriyaki one because my husband is allergic to soy (which is found in so many of my favourite recipes!) but I will be giving the Salsa chicken a go. That sounds wonderful. How did it turn out for you- if you’ve eaten it?

    Like

    • My sister in law is allergic to doy, so I totally understand. They sneak it in everywhere! The salsa chicken is really good. It’s not a soup though, which is weird. But it was great over fritos with sour cream and cheese and rice. 🙂 thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

