Frosting and a Miracle

Hello blog world!

Originally this was going to be a post about pumpkin cake. Don’t panic, we’ll get there yet. But something even better than pumpkin cake or jamberry nail wraps has happened. I saw a miracle. There wasn’t flashing lights or a voice from the sky saying “This is a miracle, my child!” But it has changed my view of prayer immensely.

I’m a Christian, hopefully you’ve caught onto that. I go to church, I sing in the choir, I read my Bible, I pray. But I’ve always struggled with the fact that God didn’t hear my childish prayer and took my friend away from me. I stuffed my pain into the deepest darkest corner of my heart and I tried to wipe all my memories of my Joseph from my mind. I told myself it would hurt less.

Joe and I are the two kids in the center. The boy and the girl all standing super close.

Joe and I are the two kids in the center. The boy and the girl all standing super close.

Last Saturday I saw a post about Joseph, saying my friend was in the hospital with a brain hemorrhage. I did the natural thing and panicked, calling my mom. She got in touch with his mom, and voila. Communication re-established. They almost lost him. He got pneumonia, his lung collapsed, and still his icp (intra cranial pressure) rose. That’s bad, very bad. It looked like we were going to lose him. God put it on my sisters heart to pay for me to go see him one last time, say the goodbyes for the family. When I got there, his hospital room was silent. He was practically lifeless, tubes running in and out of his body, his dark hair sticking out everywhere. He didn’t even flutter those dark lashes of his. No smile. No frown. None of the usual “My Raaaaaaaaacccccccccccccchhhhhhhhhhhhheeeeeeeeeeeeeelllllll!!!” Just the sounds of the machines breathing for him. They were ready to declare him brain dead. They were in the process of speaking to the parents when….all of the sudden….he had some iris back! He was no longer considered brain dead and was rushed into surgery. The next day the room that had mourning was a place of joy.

Joe squeezed my hand and looked at me. Those beautiful brown eyes were open, and he has life in him now. He listens, and perks up when he hears Portuguese (we are both bilingual). Prayer works. The fact Joseph is alive and celebrating his 25th birthday today is a miracle.

That’s my miracle. Joseph is and always will be my miracle.

Now that I have shared the miracle, lets get down to business (to defeat the huns!!!!) Ahem, sorry about that, this isn’t a Disney movie. Have you ever heard of Jamberry Nail Wraps? Oh, good, I’ll explain. Jams are a nail wrap that you put on with a mini heater. If you don’t have one, a blow dryer works fine, I do it all the time. It stays on for much longer than nail polish. After a week of working Starbucks, my jam was fine, but my nail polish was another story. I don’t have any pictures (Joseph’s almost death took precedence over a picture of my nails), but the nail polish was half off, and all nasty and the jams looked like they had just put them on.

My consultant is amazing, and she reminded me that all jams are buy 3 sheets get 1 free! One sheet of Jams can do a full mani and pedi. Yupp. A full mani and pedi that won’t chip. 🙂 If you’re interested, there is more information here.

For the Jamberry Party that I had with my awesome consultant, I made a snack. Me, bake something? Imagine that! But, I did. Fall is here, so it was time to pull out the pumpkin. I was slightly disappointed with my pumpkin cake recipe I tried out because it was dense, almost like a brownie. Until I have found a pumpkin cake recipe I am ready to put in my personal cookbook, it certainly isn’t going on here. But…I did find the best frosting for a pumpking cake EVER. As in in the history of frostings! This is the cream cheese frosting that spoiled plain old pumpkin cake for me for all times.

The original recipe was for a frosted 3 layer cake so I tweaked it to frost just a 9×13 cake pan with a decent layer of goodness. Drumroll please…..

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

8oz cream cheese softened (1 brick)
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg (optional)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3-3 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Combine softened butter and cream cheese. Beat on low-medium low speed until incorporated into smooth mixture. Add cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla. Beat until incorporated smoothly. Add the powdered sugar 1/2 cup at a time until it forms a smooth frosting. If it is still a little runny, put it in the fridge to allow it to thicken. If it is too thick add a smidge of water until it reaches the correct consistency. It should hold it’s shape and form soft peaks. Spread onto cooled pumpkin cake. (Go ahead. Lick the spoon.) Enjoy!cinnamon cream cheese

One thought on “Frosting and a Miracle

Leave a Reply

