Breakfast in a jiffy

Before I get too far into post, I apologize for any errors in this post. I’m posting from my phone because it’s been that kind of a crazy-sleep-deprived-oh-my-goodness-my-alarm-went-off-is-it-Friday-yet week. I hate waking up,  it is the worst part of my day love mornings! If you don’t know me well,  you should known that coffee is its own food group in my life. That’s just how it is.

image

And then….. There’s my job. I have to be leaving my house at 5:57 AM or I won’t make it. After a few days of forgetting my lunch, I came up with an awesome solution: freezer meals!  I had heard of them,  but never tried to make any. Last week I finally made one. I call it freezer ‘rittos.
It needed to be cost effective. For under $15, here is what I bought: tortillas (10), spicy sausage,  a tomato,  an avocado, corn,  and black beans.
I already had salsa and cheese.
I was pleasantly surprised to find out the avocados froze and thawed just fine!
Freezer ‘Rittos
1 roll spicy sausage
1 small can corn,  drained
1 can black beans rinsed and drained (make sure all the black goo is gone)
1 tomato, diced
1 avocado, diced

In a skillet, brown the sausage. While that is in progress, combine all the remaining ingredients in a bowl. Add cooked sausage and stir. Into each tortilla, add 1/4 cup mix, salsa, and cheese.
Roll like a burrito, wrap in aluminium foil and freeze.
Voila! Easy delicious meal.

To reheat: wrap in paper towel. Heat for 30 seconds, then flip. Repeat until warm. Wrap in aluminium foil, let sit for 2 minutes to ensure it heats evenly.

Leave a Reply

