SOS!!!!

As I’ve said before, I live in a 985 sq ft apartment. Most of this space is not in the kitchen. As much as I love this apartment, there are definite issues with the kitchen. Most of it is storage issues. I coupon, so I am always looking for more space. It has overflowed from the kitchen cabinet, to a shelf in the dining room, to an extra cabinet, and some of the toiletries I coupon for are finding their home in the front closet and the bathroom. It’s a mess! But with an extremely low grocery/toiletry budget, I try not to complain too much. 

This is some of the overflow. Some people don't understand why i copon, but all the product in the pictures was well under $50 out of pocket. (The pasta alone should have been that much. My pasta was free.)

This is some of the overflow. Some people don’t understand why i coupon, but all the product in the pictures was well under $50 out of pocket. (The pasta alone should have been that much. My pasta was free.)

I love casseroles and cream based soup. But with the serious lack of storage, canned cream of whatever soups I don’t keep alot of. They are heavy to carry back from the store, and they take up quite a bit of my valuable space in the kitchen. I was reading one of my favorite blogs (The Thrifty Couple), and saw this recipe pop up. I love saving money and space! This did both. It is called SOS mix-Soup or Sauce Mix. This mix is equal to 9 cans of cream of chicken soup, but it fits into a salsa jar instead of taking up 1/4 of a shelf. 

It’s very simple to make. Just a few ingredients and you will have saved money and space. The recipe calls for instant bullion, but I had an idiot moment and bought the bullion cubes. Out of desperation I tossed the whole recipe in the blender, and that finally fixed my mistake. 

SOS Mix
2 Cups nonfat powdered milk
3/4 Cup cornstarch
1/4 Cup instant chicken bullion (trust me, go for the instant.)
2 tsp Italian Seasoning
2 tsp garlic powder

Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl until well blended. Pour or spoon into a jar or bowl. 

Boom. Nine cans in one jar. Yes, this is a happy day.

Boom. Nine cans in one jar. Yes, this is a happy day.

TO MAKE MIX FOR RECIPE: Add 1/3 cup SOS Mix to 1 1/4 cup water to a boil. Let simmer, stirring, until thickened. Makes the equivalent of one 9 3/4 ounce can cream of chicken soup. 

One thought on “SOS!!!!

  1. Pingback: Chicken and biscuits | The Flustered Baker

Leave a Reply

