Welcome weekend!

   Weekend, how I’ve missed thee! But, seriously it’s been a crazy week. How I squeezed in making two actual meals, I’m still working at figuring out. I’m afraid this post is going to suffer from a serious lack of pictures, but it tastes amazing. I was at work on my 15 minute break when the urge to actually make something from all my Pintrest boards hit me. So I pulled out my phone and found one that has looked appealing for quite some time. I had to do some modification because garlic powder in my food is not appealing and I’m trying to eat healthier. The original also used MUCH more oil.The fact that it only used one pan appealed to me. I only have one skillet, so having to wash it multiple times during a recipe aggravates me. The beauty of this recipe is that it can be served as is, on a bed of lettuce, or in a burrito. 

One Pan Chicken Burritos

1 pound ground chicken
4 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 one large onion, diced
1 can diced tomatoes with green chiles
1 can low sodium black beans, rinsed
1 can low sodium corn kernels, drained
1 1/2 tsp chili powder
1 Cup long grain rice
2 1/2 Cups low sodium chicken broth

     In a large skillet, add diced onions, minced garlic, and 1 tablespoon oil. Saute until the onions are almost clear. Add the ground chicken and salt and pepper to taste. Once the chicken is done, stir in the chili powder. Push the chicken over to half of the skillet and add the rice. Saute until the rice looks clear. Add the beans, corn, and tomatoes.Stir well and pour the broth over all of that soon to be yummy goodness. Bring it to a simmer, then put the lid on and let it simmer (not a full boil or you will scorch the rice) for 20 minutes. Do not stir or your rice will disintegrate. Serve with guacamole, sour cream, fresh tomatoes and any other topping of your choice. Enjoy!!!

Vegan/Vegetarian variation: Omit chicken, add another can of beans. Substitute vegetable broth for chicken broth. Serve with topping of your choice. Enjoy. 

Leave a Reply

