Strawberry Cake

Sadly, strawberry season is coming to a screeching halt. I was loving eating a ton of fresh fruit all day long, and especially the big, juicy berries. They were epic. I decided to buy some, thinking they would be as yummy. Can you say moldy 2 days later? I bought another pint, and they were ok. Not sweet, not big, and too pale for my taste. But, I refuse to let strawberries go to waste. My original plan was to stare at them blankly. My back-up plan was to make a strawberry cake. 

When I think strawberry cake, I think the kind that comes out of a box. After looking through all of my recipe books, I realized that I had no recipe for a strawberry cake. Bummer!!!!!!!! I did manage to find one online. 

It isn’t quite like a cake in that it isn’t crazy fluffy, but it is not dense like a cookie either. It’s more like….an ozark pie. That dense, almost gooey cake/pie with apples and pecans….it’s amazing. And this is alot like it. I’m a HUGE fan of both recipes. 

Strawberry Cake

Image

6 tablespoons butter, softened
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup sugar
1 large egg
1/2 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups sliced strawberries

Preheat oven to 350. Mix together the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt. Set it aside. Mix together the liquid ingredients, set them aside. Melt the butter a little, then mix it into the dry ingredients until it looks like a crumbly mixture. Add the liquid ingredients. Stir it together until it’s all mixed together. Stir in most of the strawberries. Pour the mixture into a greased 8×8 pan. Sprinkle the rest of the berries on top. Bake for 10 minutes at 350. Lower the temperature to 325, then let it bake for 45 minutes, or until it’s golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean. 

Bon Appetit!

 

Leave a Reply

