Mexican Hot Chocolate Cupcakes

I used to love Mexican hot chocolate. Creamy, hot, and cinnamon…I don’t know quite what it was about it, but I loved it. Had it everyday one winter. Fantastic, until you get completely burned out.

A few months ago, I stumbled across a honey-cinnamon frosting. Originally I put it on a banana cake. That was the bomb. It reminded me of putting honey on hot banana bread. But, I had a craving for mexican hot chocolate. Given the fact that it is 80 degrees outside, that put a damper on the situation. My best friend had a cupcake craving, so I picked up some stuff to make chocolate ones, and decided to top it with the honey cinnamon frosting. I wasn’t sure how it was going to end up, but it was really good, and satisfied my mexican hot chocolate craving. 

Mexican Hot Chocolate Cupcakes

Chocolate Cupcakes with Honey Cinnamon Frosting

12 chocolate cupcakes, cooled and ready to be frosted

1/2 cup margarine/butter
1 1/4 cup powdered sugar
1 tablespoon honey
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Blend together all the ingredients until you have a creamy frosting. If it’s too thick, add more honey. If it’s too thin, add more powdered sugar. Just remember, a little of either goes a very long way. Frost the cupcakes with the amazing frosting, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

