Cheater’s Pot Pie

Before I get to the recipe for today, I have to share what I bought with y’all! I learned to cook from my mom’s old betty crocker cookbook. I love it-mainly because I’ve made most of the recipes in there. When I moved out, needless to say, good old betty did not come with me. She stayed in Brazil, a few years older and much, much rattier! Mom and Bettty taught us well. All three of her daughters can cook. When my sister got married, my mom gave her the backup Betty. I’ve been wanting one, but come on–this cookbook is from when my parents got married. 1986, to be exact. The first Christmas gift my dad gave my mom after they got married. According to my mom, it was the newest one out there. Well….I found it! At a used bookstore! In amazing condition too! Check it out:

Image

The famous red cover. It has some fading from where it sat in the direct sunshine for years.

Image

Print date-1986! Wohoo!

So, after sitting in someone’s house for 25 years, all it has to show for itself is a dent in the spine. Score for me!

Now, onto the recipe! I got home and did not want taquitos or frozen pizza. So, I slapped something together. I was not sure how it was going to turn out, but it tasted really good! This recipe fed 2 adults who both had seconds. I’m not saying that this is worthy of being blogged about for it’s technique….but yes, for the simplicity of it! And on a weeknight something simple and filling is always better than something beautiful and complicated.

Cheater’s Chicken Pot Pie-Italian Style!Image

1 pie crust
2 cups assorted vegetables
1 chicken breast, cooked
1 jar light alfredo sauce
1 teaspoon italian seasoning

Mix the alfredo sauce with the italian seasoning. Add the chicken and veggies.Pour into a round casserole dish. Lay the pie crust on top, and tuck in the edges that hang over under itself, so it forms a cute little edge. Bake it for 30 minutes at 375 F. Let it sit for 20 minutes to thicken, if you can.

Leave a Reply

