I haven’t died!!!!

Ok, so that is kind of is obvious by this post. I had a few health problems, and life got bumpy. But, here I am! Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand, with a recipe I came up with! I discovered to my utter humiliation that I am 40 pounds overweight. For real? That snuck up on me. So, I am going to lose the weight. In fact, I’ve already shed some of the offensive pounds. 

Now, what the family doesn’t know is, they’ve been put on a healthier diet too! We’ve been doing a lot of chicken, a ton of steamed vegetables, and I’ve revamped some of our favorite recipes. 

It’s been chilly here in Oregon lately. I wanted soup, but my go to soup has high fat sausage, so that was a no-go. The next was just to make chicken alfredo. But….I’m avoiding cream based products. Out of desperation, I came up with my own recipe. Given the fact everyone had seconds, I’d say it’s a make again.

Better for you Chicken Soup

1 can diced tomatos (with green chilis)
1 package brussel sprouts
3 cups of baby carrots
1 tsp italian herb mix
4 chicken breasts, cut into bite size pieces
1 small can tomato sauca

Combine all of the ingredients in a slow cooker. If your brussel sprouts are big, cut them into halves or quarters. Add enough water to make the soup the consistency you want. Cook it on high for 4 hours, or on low for 7 hours. The best part of this soup? 180 for a cup and a half of soup. Oh, yeah!

Leave a Reply

