I’m back with new recipes!!!!!

Hey y’all. This Christmas Season was insane!!!!!!! We were traveling all over the city! It’s insane. But, I’m back. However, there are some slight changes. The Flustered Baker is trying to do a healthier makeover. I’ll still have my sweets, but there are lifestyle changes that need to be made. Cause there is a lovely dress in my closet that needs to fit. Now…. after I’ve said all that…. ahem…. I made French Toast Casserole last night. *Blush* BUT…. I didn’t pig out. just for the record.

It’s from the Smitten Kitchen. Her recipes are amazing! I usually don’t like French Toast Casserole, but this one was really good. I don’t have a picture of it cooked, cause I flip mine upside down, and the custardy part isn’t very photogenic. Don’t use end pieces! Trust me. Just don’t do it. Resist the temptation. Don’t use the end pieces of bread. I’m begging you!!!! It does nothing for this make again recipe

French Toast Casserole

16 slices of bread
Butter or Margarine
Cinnamon Sugar

6 eggs
3 C milk
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp vanilla

First, we’re going to make the toast! Butter one side of each slice of bread, then ¬†sprinkle cinnamon sugar on it. (If you don’t have it already made, stir together half cup sugar and one tablespoon cinnamon.) Put them cinnamon side up on a baking sheet. Pop them in a 450 oven for 7-10 minutes, or until the cinnamon sugar is all crunchy. Let them cool slightly. Take two slices and cut them in half horizontally. Put the bottom slice of that in a buttered 9×13 pan so that the cut side is against the side. Then arrange half the bread. For the last slice in the first row, put the top half of the cut bread at the end. When you finish, the two rows should be going two different directions.

In a large mixing bowl wisk together the eggs, milk, salt, and vanilla. CAREFULLY pour the mixture over the cinnamon toast. Let it sit for at least 15 minutes so it can kinda absorb into it. Lower your oven temperature to 350 and cook it for 30 minutes. We served it with raspberry sauce and powdered sugar, with applesauce on the side. So good!

Leave a Reply

