Chicken Tetrazzini

 

So, I woke up this morning to the phone ringing. In the darkness, I assumed it was the middle of the night. Actually, it was 5 am. My friends mom is a nicu nurse. She got put on a mandatory day off cause they were overstaffed. Then, they called in the middle of the night (again!). Actually, it was 6 am. She was put on call.

So, when I rolled out of bed at 9:30, I thought there was only two of us home.  I made one batch of pancakes, then heard someone asking what I was making. Imagine my shock when there were four people home, not two! After I peeled myself off the ceiling and restarted my heart, I found out about all the calls in “the middle of the night.”  Two batches of pancakes and one cut-out quilt later, she got called into work.

So, now, I have to make dinner. Not that I minded. I’m just a menu oriented freak. When I was 16, I planned the menu for the week out and made a grocery list off of that. I had everything on that list. I would spend over an hour so that the menu would be just right. I would pour over that thing. I mean, who wants the same vegetable two days in a row?

My amazing best friend offered to make her also amazing Beef Stroganoff. Then-horror! No ground beef. Back to square one for the menu freak. The suggestion of pizza squares came up, but I’m always ravenous ten minutes later. Desperate, I googled crock pot recipes. And voila, chicken tetrazzini. I liked it. (It was also my first time cooking with anything alcoholic.)  Anyways, here is this lovely make again recipe.

ChickenTetrezzini

2 1/2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into one inch pieces.
1 16 oz jar of alfredo sauce
1/4 cup chicken broth or water
2 tbsp cooking sherry
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp black pepper
2/3 cup parmesan cheese

Dig our your handy dandy crock pot. (Btw, if your chicken is frozen like mine was, I went ahead and popped it in the crockpot on high to get it thawing while I prepared the rest of it.) Pop the chicken in the crockpot.

In a medium bowl, put alfredo sauce. Make sure to scrape it good!  Add the chicken broth, sherry, nutmeg, and pepper. Stir it carefully. Pour it over the chicken. If you want it to cook for 5-6 hours, stick it on high. If you need it done in 2-3 hours, pop that sucker on low. When you’re ready to serve, stir in the parmesan cheese. Serve over pasta. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Chicken Tetrazzini

Leave a Reply

