Pumpkins and Banana Cake

Well, it’s halloween. I have never carved a pumpkin before today. But now I have. I carved 3. I would have carved 4, but it was seriously uncarveable. I thought I was just getting wimpy, so we got Daina’s dad involved. He couldn’t carve it either. After many mournful sighs at my warty pumpkin, we sharpied Welcome on him. Poor dude. After all our pumpkins were carved we had a few smiley faces, a fleur-de-lis, and a sunflower. Plus ol warty.

Once we had cleaned the kitchen up, we made banana cake. Lets rephrase that. I made banana cake. Daina and everyone else ate it. It’s amazing with a little butter. It bakes to a lovely golden brown and tastes even better than it looks!

Banana Cake

1/2 cup butter
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 beaten eggs
2 cups flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup milk
1/4 tsp vanilla
3/4 tsp baking soda
2 pureed bananas (I used a food processor)

   Preheat oven to 350.  In a bowl, cream the butter and sugar.  Add the two eggs. (Just don’t be like me and accidentally dump it outside the bowl. They don’t do much good on the outside of the bowl.)
In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, salt, and baking powder. In yet another bowl (i hate doing dishes, but if I can do it, so can you!) mix together the milk, vanilla, baking soda, and bananas. (side not on the vanilla. Somehow, I managed to drip banana right into the vanilla bottle. Go figure….) Alternate adding the milk mixture and the flour mixture to the mixing bowl, beating well between additions. Mix it until it’s well blended. (Depending on how well you pureed your bananas, it might be lumpy)
Cook it for about 30 minutes. Serve it with a little bit of butter

Leave a Reply

