The not-so-mysterious disappearance of the cheesecake brownies

The dog ate my picture.

Ok, so you saw through that one. The truth is even better! They got eaten before I took a picture. Our church had a “snack attack.” We have a potluck style dinner with food that’s donated by the church and it’s members. They had pulled pork sandwiches, hot dogs, polish hot dogs, nachos, coffee, sundaes, and donated goodies. I saw my cheesecake brownies, cookie bars, and two things that looked super crumbly and I didn’t have the nerve to try it.

The cheesecake brownies are marvelous! It’s a fudgey brownie with a creamy cheesecakey topping. Everyone I make it for loves it! My favorite part of it is that it comes out of a box for the most part. You can throw it together in ten minutes that way, or you can use your favorite brownie recipe. Without further ado, the super top secret recipe revealed!!!!

Cheesecake Brownies

I borrowed my picture from cure byte since I
don’t have one because they were devoured.

1 recipe of  a brownie mix. Any mix. Just a brownie mix. (Ahem, we have these duncan hines we got on sale and it was yummy. I made the fudgey version of it.)

8 oz of cream cheese
1/3 c sugar
1 egg.

   Make brownie according to your recipe. Pour into greased 9×13 pan. (I don’t know the size of the pan I use, but it’s a bit smaller than that.) In a mixing bowl, put the cream cheese (cut into cubes), sugar and the egg. You can mix it by hand, but it comes out chunky and bakes unevenly. Mix it until it’s blended. If you’re using the mixer it will still have lumps, but they’ll be small and even shaped. If you’re mixing by hand….. good luck cause you’ll need it.
Here’s the fun part. I always feel like an artist! Take a butter knife and use it to swirl and scoop all of that gooiness around and make it look like… well…. marble.
Put the whole thing in a pre-heated 350 oven. Let it bake for 30ish minutes. Just fyi, depending on the brand of cream cheese you use, it might not brown. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “The not-so-mysterious disappearance of the cheesecake brownies

Leave a Reply

